Author Topic: Chinese Type 53 vs. SKS  (Read 1671 times)

Bkloes

• SKS Newbie
Chinese Type 53 vs. SKS
« on: March 11, 2012, 06:02:46 PM »
Hey all,
So i am new to surplus rifles but I am learning about various things.  I read all about how fun the Type 44 (Mosin Nagant) can be with the higher powered 7.62x54r round they can hit at 1000 yards?  I realize that this takes years of practice and is not something that anyone can just start off doing.  The shorter SKS round is not capable of this distance, and also has a less "straight" trajectory.  Please correct anything I say that is wrong, since I am just learning.  The first question I guess should be are the Type 53 rifles as accurate as the Type 44? What is the main difference?
Regarding the SKS and the Mosin Nagants, is that the difference in rounds make these two guns like apples and oranges? I have heard there is no point in scoping an SKS due to the rounds limited distance and something about the shaking from multiple shots being hard on the scope?  Since the Type 44/53 are bolt action does this make them more suited for a scope?  Finally what would you pay for a Type 53 carbine today and what are some things to look out for?

Thank you,

Brandon

GUDERIANSDOG

• Spinner of ripping yarns.
  • Board Supporter
  • SKS Guru
  • Sic Semper Tyrannous
    • "A Cruel Thing- A Tale of American Spirits"
Re: Chinese Type 53 vs. SKS
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 12:44:25 PM »
Welcome to the SKS boards Bkloes. The boards search feature will allow you to find most of the answers to your questions. But here is some history of the M44 carbine.

Russia