Author Topic: How can a 60 year old rifle be "never fired"? Newbie question...  (Read 853 times)

baD mR fRosTy

• SKS Newbie
How can a 60 year old rifle be "never fired"? Newbie question...
« on: November 16, 2012, 10:42:00 PM »
Hi,

This site has been a great find...

I am new to the SKS world, and bought one sight unseen last week from a mom & pop shop here in Canada ($180) because I wanted a center-fire (my first) to add to my Ruger 10/22, and a friend recommended a military surplus. He has a very cool .303 British Lee Enfield, but I wanted a semi-auto.

My question is regarding the idea of a "never been fired"/as-issued Russian SKS. Is there such a thing...like the rilfe was only used for marching (?), or does that mean never fired since it was refurbished? I thought that ALL these old 1950's models had been "used"?

I have checked out the site pretty good, and I believe I have a nice TULA 1951(r), un-refurbished, reddish stock, matching serial numbers rifle (albeit with a Canadian 5-round riveted mag and the strange "gold" bayonet), which I really love...and I'm happy with the rilfe, although I have yet to visit the range with it.

So how does one know if they have a "never been fired" SKS?
Would it "look like new"? This one has some slight wear, although the barrel looks very very clean inside. Are there tell-tale marks indicating how much "wear" the barrel has? Could it still be a "collectable" rilfe even if fired? Or does the 5-round Canadian mag kinda spoil that? I love it either way, I am just curious.
Please forgive the odd question...like I said, I though they had ALL been fired?

Oh...I DID look for the "say hello" thread...I'm John from Nova Scotia...

:-)

noytaCCCP

• SKS Marksman
    • My red rifle trio
Re: How can a 60 year old rifle be "never fired"? Newbie question...
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2012, 10:44:30 PM »
I have an unfired, non-refurbished 1951 here in Ontario -- the real deal.  So yes, it is possible, but not common.