Author Topic: "Best" (all-round) ammo for SKS?  (Read 965 times)

Sporting Lad

• Board Supporter
  • SKS Marksman
  • "CANUCKISTAN"
"Best" (all-round) ammo for SKS?
« on: January 25, 2013, 03:37:29 PM »
Hi,
I'm not a new shooter, but I've had no experience with 7.62x39.
So my question is:
What's the (all round) "best" ammo for my SKS?
By "best" I mean considering factors such as cost, reliability, corrosiveness,
accuracy, and so forth.  I expect there are many opinions on this topic (!).
It may help to know that I'm a "plinker", so don't really need top-shelf/high-priced stuff, but nor do I want some aged surplus that will have a lot of corrosive properties, weak casings, hang-fires and so on. 
So maybe something 'middle-of-the-road'?
There's no shortage of this calibre here in Canada--the trouble being the variety of choices--that's confusing for the SKS noob!
Thx.
"The computer has allowed us to make more mistakes faster than any invention in history, with the possible exceptions of the Kalashnikov and vodka."
-(New Russian proverb)

bobbers

• Board Supporter
  • SKS Guru
Re: "Best" (all-round) ammo for SKS?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 03:52:07 PM »
Yugo M67 is surplus, all brass and, for my  money, the best round out there. Yes, corrosive primers but all that requires is a cleaning with water down the barrel and gas tube before normal cleaning.  And old though it may be it's not going to hang fire, or worse, it's built to last.

Commercially I favor Golden Tiger in 123 FMJ.  Also affordable.  Wolf Military Classic is good as well.  Lotta choices but in the final analysis you'd be best served by trying 4,5,6 different types in YOUR SKS to see which one works  best in terms of accuracy and overall function. 

hipsniper

• SKS Marksman
  • "Guns don't kill people, I do"
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 04:10:49 PM »