Author Topic: Sks Misfires  (Read 1225 times)

Whitedice

• SKS Marksman
Sks Misfires
« on: March 10, 2013, 06:06:20 PM »
My older brother recently picked up a Chinese sks for me and I am having some trouble with it. I made the mistake of letting him shoot it before I got a chance to look it over. He told me it was starting to misfire after about 50 rounds and when I got it I realized it was covered in cosmoline. So I took it and cleaned it out and I also switched the stock to an adjustable stock from tapco and picked up a 20 round mag. I thought it was good to go and took it to the range but it wouldn't fire at all. I came home and looked up some information on here and found out that the reason for the misfires was probably the pin being dirty. I am new to guns in general and hadn't fully disassembled the bolt assembly to clean it just because I was worried about taking a gun apart so far. So I followed a tutorial on here and was able to get the pin nice and clean so it would move freely. I went out to shoot it again today and again had the same problem. The gun wont fire the first shot, but shoots about 50-75% of the cartridges after the first one. So cleaning the pin helped but it is still misfiring a bunch. So maybe I need a new trigger spring or something? I am definitely starting to like this gun just for the simple reason that I have never felt so comfortable with completely disassembling a gun and I have already learned alot. But I would like it if the gun would actually work as it should. So any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

BillyBang

• Global Moderator
  • SKS Guru
Re: Sks Misfires
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 07:18:57 PM »
What kind of ammo?

Do the ones that misfire show a pretty good primer hit/dent?

Have you tried to rechamber some that didn't fire the first time and try them again?

I know a lot of questions but assuming that the rifle is squeaky clean,
it could be the ammo.

Rocketvapor

• Board Supporter
  • SKS Guru