Author Topic: 1st SKS Norinco Need Indentity  (Read 2084 times)

plum

• SKS Newbie
1st SKS Norinco Need Indentity
« on: October 24, 2006, 11:10:40 PM »
I got a SKS today from an elderly gentleman.  It is marked with a triangle with either 636 or g3g in the triangle, then three Chinese symbols, then 26002346, then Q, thenSKS 7.62x39 MADE IN CHINA  BY NORINCO CAL ST AL  8 V1.  CAN ANYONE IDENTIFY THE MODEL I HAVE?   I also recieved a 50 round clip with it but cannot figure out how to get it in the mag where the other is.  I am new to these.

sniper47

• SKS Expert
Re: 1st SKS Norinco Need Indentity
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2006, 01:12:24 AM »
Quote from: plum
I got a SKS today from an elderly gentleman.  It is marked with a triangle with either 636 or g3g in the triangle, then three Chinese symbols, then 26002346, then Q, thenSKS 7.62x39 MADE IN CHINA  BY NORINCO CAL ST AL  8 V1.  CAN ANYONE IDENTIFY THE MODEL I HAVE?   I also recieved a 50 round clip with it but cannot figure out how to get it in the mag where the other is.  I am new to these.
Don't bother with the 50rd magazine, they rarely work. It's prolly 636. CAL ST AL is the importer. When you have time, check out the various FAQ's on the board. They contain tremendous information for newbie SKS owners. Also, do yourself a big favor and learn how to disassemble the firearm, including the bolt, clean it and then go shoot it. Enjoy!
"Do yah feel lucky, punk? Well....do yah?"
                        Inspector 71

KOOLmike

• I Think I'm Special
  • SKS Guru
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2006, 01:27:15 AM »
Good advice from sniper47. You'll likely encounter feed problems with that 50-rounder. The original 10-round box mag has never failed me in any of the SKSs I've owned.
Also, as sniper47 said, do a complete bolt disassembly to ensure that the firing pin channel is free of cosmoline.
Freedom is free when you let people be!

Wood: The Original FDE