Author Topic: Better Accuracy and Match Grade Barrels for SKS..............??  (Read 8547 times)

DarkRaven

• SKS Newbie
I purchased an SKS from a friend and I got a hell of a deal, he sold me a Maverick 88 12gauge and a Russian SKS both for $225.00 I think I got a steal, anyway this is my first Russian rifle I took it out to the range last weekend and scoffed at the accuracy. I have 3 AR frames so I have been spoiled.. I am an experienced shooter and Veteran, and at 50 and 100 yards I shot maybe 60 percent on paper I ran about 175 rounds through it and adjusted the sites and even used natural compensation And still I am trying to get an eye for the sites anyway I would like to get the SKS as accurate as possible I have a Monte Carlo stock on order and a slotted pin on muzzle break I am also planning on getting a scope fitted to the top rear receiver cover from my local surplus store, anyway I cannot find anyone selling match barrels for the SKS , and yes I know "they are a battle rifle, not a precision instrument" but I have been shooting since I was 3 and ...well I sucked at the range last weekend. I know more goes into accuracy then the barrel and yes your hard pressed to free float an sks barrel, and all the doo dads attached to the barrels don't help but just curious how I can get better accuracy....any thoughts?

TXSailor

• SKS Gunsmith
Re: Better Accuracy and Match Grade Barrels for SKS..............??
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 08:31:36 PM »